in ,

District 13-6A Recap

Austin Vandegrift dominates at the District 13-6A Championships, which occurred this past Wednesday, January 31st at Round Rock High School. They won the team race by over 100 points and had nine finalists, six of whom came away as champions. Charlie Trujillo and Derek Ruffin lead the charge with all pins. Hutto comes in second place with five champions of their own, leaving the three other champions coming from Harker Heights, Temple, and Cedar Ridge.

Team Results

  • Champions – Vandegrift – 288.5 points
  • Runner-Up – Hutto – 175 points
  • 3rd – Round Rock – 154.5 points
  • 4th – Harker Heights – 124.5 points

Below are the results and breakdown by weight.


No ranked wrestlers entered this bracket leaving it open to anyone. Sophomore David Hughes from Harker Height walks away as champion after a pin, a tech fall, and a decision in the finals.

  • 1st Place – David Hughes of Killeen Harker Heights
  • 2nd Place – Garrett Runhaar of Austin Vandegrift
  • 3rd Place – Chad Rasberry of Round Rock McNeil
  • 4th Place – Kyle Torres of Round Rock Cedar Ridge


Vandegrift’s first champion of the tournament resides here at 113. #8 ranked Charlie Trujillo pins all of his opponents in the first period proving himself as the top contender going into regions next week.

  • 1st Place – #8 Charlie Trujillo of Austin Vandegrift
  • 2nd Place – Jaxon Fish of Round Rock
  • 3rd Place – Chase Ramstad of Round Rock McNeil
  • 4th Place – Peng-Wu Ang of Round Rock Cedar Ridge


#2 Derek Ruffin of Austin Vandegrift is victorious here. Two thirty-second pins brought him to the finals where he got third-period pin while having a 10-0 lead.

  • 1st Place – #2 Derek Ruffin of Austin Vandegrift
  • 2nd Place – Jonathan Shevat of Round Rock
  • 3rd Place – Daniel Gil of Cedar Park Vista Ridge
  • 4th Place – Zachary Phelps of Round Rock McNeil


The first of Hutto’s five champions was crowned at this weight division. Three pins gave #13 Clyde Adams the district champion title. Also a sub-one-minute pin for Jacob Woeher in the 3rd place match.

  • 1st Place – #13 Clyde Adams of Hutto
  • 2nd Place – Corbin Porter of Copperas Cove
  • 3rd Place – Jacob Woehr of Austin Vandegrift
  • 4th Place – Matthew Soprapto of Round Rock McNeil


132 gave us the first-ranked finals match of the tournament…..

Yes, there's even more!
The Best Texas Wrestling Content.
Enjoy local Texas wrestling perspective as well as national outlook with the power of Rokfin. Cancel at any time.
  • Exclusive Texas Wrestling content
  • Rankings, articles, video, livestreams
  • Access to over 130+ wrestling channels
  • Ad-Free. No ads, no banners – not now, not ever
  • Our Mission is to provide the most and best Texas wrestling content. We believe wrestling is the toughest sport and deserves media coverage. If you appreciate what we do, please consider subscribing to help support what we provide
  • With a Rokfin subscription, you gain access to exclusive content, Missouri high school rankings and other premium content that may not be available to non-subscribers. The WrestlingTexas premium subscription is available at $14.99 per month or $149.99 per year, offering the flexibility to cancel anytime.

What do you think?

320 points
Upvote Downvote

Written by Luke Burgess

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *