Angelo Ferrari Named Texas Winner of Dave Schultz High School Excellence Award by the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Melissa’s Angelo Ferrari has been named the 2024 Texas winner of the Dave Schultz High School Excellence Award by the National Wrestling Hall of Fame.

The DSHSEA was established in 1996 to honor Olympic and World champion Dave Schultz, whose career was cut short when he was murdered in January 1996. He was inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame as a Distinguished Member in 1997 and as a member of the United World Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2016.

The DSHSEA recognizes and celebrates the nation’s most outstanding high school senior male wrestlers for their excellence in wrestling, scholastic achievement, citizenship, and community service.

“The winners of our Dave Schultz High School Excellence Award are an amazing group of young men who have set the highest standards for personal achievement, excelling in the classroom and on the wrestling mat while also providing leadership and service,” said NWHOF Executive Director Lee Roy Smith. “I want to thank our committees for their diligence and hard work to select such outstanding representatives of our sport.

“We take great pride watching our DSHSEA winners as they continue their careers and achieve success at the collegiate and international level while continuing to excel academically and be positive role models who inspire young wrestlers.”

DSHSEA winners are evaluated and selected on the basis of three criteria: success and standout performances and sportsmanship in wrestling; review of GPA and class rank, academic honors and distinctions; and participation in activities that demonstrate commitment to character and community.

The Central Region, Midwest Region, Northeast Region, Southeast Region and West Region winners will be announced on May 2 and the national winner will be announced on May 9.

What do you think?

346 points
Upvote Downvote

Written by TexasWrestling

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *