News Ticker

5A Boys State Recap Day 1

After day 1 the 5A boys have started to sort things out.  Canyon Randall leads the team race headed for their 2nd consecutive state title with 5 in the semi finals but does Frisco Centennial has enough fire power to make it back to the front with only 3 in the semi finals.

1Canyon Randall65.0
2Frisco Centennial48.5
3El Paso Eastwood40.0
4College Station A&M Consolidated35.0
5Burleson Centennial33.0


We go through the weights to see how the top 4  came through and who didnt.

#1 Trebor Moreno of  El Paso Eastwood  (FR  ), #2 Bradyn Valdez of  Lubbock Monterey , and #4 Zach Casias of  Lubbock  (SO  )   all punch their ticket to the semi finals along with #5 Kenneth Hendriksen of  Carrollton Creekview  (SO  ). #3 Abel Alvarado of  PSJA Memorial faced Casias in the quarter finals and lost 4-1.  Moreno/Hendriksen and Valdez/Casias semi finals.

All 4 top ranked wrestlers made the semi finals here. #1 D’Andre Brown of  Wylie East will face #2 Brendon McCurry of  Burleson Centennial and #3 Tyten Volks of  Frisco Centennial  (SO  ) will face #4 Mitchell Borynack of  Frisco Liberty.  3 of the top 4 are region 2 wrestlers and Folks beat Borynack last weekend  so we will see if he returns the favor.

#1 Andres Mendoza of  Canyon Randall  (JR  ) will face off against #3 Cade Morgan of  Frisco Centennial  (SR  ) and 2x state champ  #2 Alex Pena of  Lubbock  (SR ) will take on #8 Christopher Tavares of  El Paso Eastwood  (JR  ). #4 Reynoldo Perez of  Uvalde ran into Mendoza in the quarter finals and lost by fall.

Only #4 Felix Saunders of  Midlothian  (JR  ) made it through to the semi finals in this weight and will take on #9 Jacob Sanchez* of  College Station A&M Cons  (JR  ). The #1 Zach Pena of Lubbock, #2 Gabe Garcia of Amarillo High, and #3 Roberto Ruiz of Dumas all got beat in the first round.  #6 Angel Avila of  Sharyland Pioneer  (SR  ) and #14 Aaron Hernandez of  El Paso Eastwood  (SR  ) battled their way through and will face each other in the semi finals.

#1 La’Stot Pleasant of  Frisco Lone Star  (SR  ) and #2 Ah Leet Yart of  Dumas  (JR  ) are the 2 top ranked wrestlers prevailing here and on opposites of the bracket.   Pleasant will face #13 Jesus Fierro of  El Paso Del Valle  (JR  ) who beat #3 Anthony Criscione of  College Station A&M Cons in a quarter finals upset. #5 Carmine Marino of  Carrollton Smith  (SR  ) will face-off with  Ah Leet Yart . #4 Gage Foulds of Cedar Park lost in a 1st round upset to #16 Andres Solis of  El Paso Eastwood  who got beat by Marino.

#3 Jackson Bourne of  Frisco Reedy  is the lone top 4 here making the semi finals here and will face off with #8 Riley McBryde of  Lubbock Monterey.  #12 London Snow of  Frisco Centennial  (SR  ) will face  #7 Coby Eikenhorst of  Carrollton Creekview  (SR  ) in the semi finals.  #1 Bryce McLaren of Leander Glenn, #2  Dominique Quiroz of Uvalde, and #4 Octavius Esquivez of Waller all had 1st round upsets.  Eikenhorst upset McLaren.

#1 Jackson Carter of  Midlothian  (SR  ) returning state champ still leads the way here and will face #6 Evan Atchley of  Colleyville Heritage  (JR  ).  #5 Tristan Seales of  Frisco Liberty   (SR  ) will face-off against #4 Tucker Spradley of  Frisco Reedy  (SR  ).  This is an all region 2 semi finals. #2 Moses Torres of  Canyon Randall lost a close one to Spradley and #3 Spencer Buchholz of  Dallas Highland Park lost to Seales.

#1 Chase Warden of  Dripping Springs  (SR  ) will face off against #4 Greg Dean of  Canyon Randall  (SR  ) to make his return to the finals. #2 Alex Vislosky of  Lucas Lovejoy  (SR  ) will face off against #6 Xavier Martin of  El Paso Bel Air. #3 Chandler Young of Corpus Christi Ray was upset by Martin if you can call a 6 over a 3 an upset.

#1 Micah Wiginton of  Pflugerville Weiss  (SR  ) has #11 Josef Davis of  CC Veterans Memorial  (JR  )in the semi finals and  #2 Jaydn Heaton of  Canyon Randall  (SR  ) will face #3 Hank Meyer of  Burleson Centennial  (JR  ) a battle of the state runner ups from last year. Davis upset #4 Preston Hass of  Frisco Reedy in the quarter finals.

#1 Branson Britten of  Canyon Randall  (JR  )has #3 Cullen Davee of  Argyle  (JR  ) in the semi finals and #2 Max Hampton of  Frisco Lebanon Trail  (SR  ) will face #13 Joshua King of  Willis  (SR  ). #4 Jakob Underwood of  Lucas Lovejoy  (JR  29-5) lost to Davee in the quarter finals.

#1 Brahn Howard of  Richmond Foster is still on course here and will face #12 Kale Farrington of  Canyon Randall.  #3 Alexis Vejar of  College Station A&M Cons  (SR  ) will have  #4 Langston Mayrant of  New Waverly.  Farrrington upset #5 Michael Holly of  Grapevine in the quarter finals. #2 Ronald Caldwell of  Cedar Park  lost to Vejar.

All the top 4 ranked guys made the trip to the semi finals here. #1 Aiden Jean of  Northwest  (SR  ) will face #4 Corbin Phelps of  El Paso Hanks  (JR  ) and  #2 Mason Ding of  Carrollton Creekview  (JR  ) vs #3 Kallon Guyton of  Leander Glenn  (SR  ) will be happening as well.

#1 Ben Bell of  Cedar Park is still clicking in all gears and will face #5 Prince Ugoh of  Frisco Liberty.  #2 Jeff Jackson of  Amarillo  will meet up with #3 Kallon Guyton of Leander Glenn.  Ugh defeated #4 Jason Lund of  Azle in the quarter finals.

The top 3 big guys are still here with #1 Chidoze Nwankwo of  Richmond Foster, #2 Marshall Hodges of  Midlothian, and #3 William Bennett of  Ft Worth Boswell. #11 Aiden Butler of  Leander Rouse will face Nwankwo and Hodges will face Bennett.  #4 James Medin of Dallas Wilson dropped a 1st round match to #8 Joesph Immedialto of El Paso Eastwood. who then lost to Nwankwo.