Saturday marks the first major in-season event for all the teams in this 16-team field. Schools from six different states will convene at Gardner Edgerton High School in Kansas for the annual pool-to-bracket event. Competition will start with four pools of ideally four wrestlers each, with the wrestlers earning the same place in pool competition paired up for a semifinal and then final match.

Four of the teams in this field are nationally ranked — No. 12 Broken Arrow (Okla.), No. 14 Southeast Polk (Iowa), No. 20 Allen (Texas), and No. 47 Goddard (Kansas). Broken Arrow will be without the back half of their starting lineup due to advancing to the state final in football on Friday night, while Allen will be without a few starters (not sure which ones) due to their football team playing a state playoff game this weekend.

Below is a listing of the top wrestlers expected to compete in the event come Saturday by projected weight class.

106 – No. 4 Braxton Brown (Allen, Texas), Bryce Cockrell (Broken Arrow, Okla.), Nathan Rubino (Skutt Catholic, Neb.)

113 – Jackson Cockrell (Broken Arrow, Okla.), Jason Henschel (Goddard, Kansas), Devin Harmison (Southeast Polk, Iowa), Caden Garcia (Allen, Texas)

120 – Rance Waigand (Allen, Texas), Blazik Perez (Broken Arrow, Okla.), Joel Jesuroga (Southeast Polk, Iowa), Eli Rocha (Platte County, Mo.), Jordan Fisher (Goddard, Kansas), Zachary Keal (Mill Valley, Kansas)

126 – Keegan Slyter (Olathe North, Kansas), Gabe Martinez (Allen, Texas), Jared Hill (Broken Arrow, Okla.), Lucas Glover (Goddard, Kansas), Caleb Lazure (Skutt Catholic, Neb.), Joshua Pence (Manhattan, Kansas)

132 – No. 15 Reece Witcraft (Broken Arrow, Okla.), Noah Yeamans (Allen, Texas), Camden Baarda (Southeast Polk, Iowa)

138 – Blake Gonzalez (Broken Arrow, Okla.), Nicholas Stoltenberg (Skutt Catholic, Neb.), Jace Fisher (Goddard, Kansas), Nathan Marchand (Southeast Polk, Iowa)

145 – Trent Dooley (Allen, Texas), Ryan Strickland (Southeast Polk, Iowa), Cayleb Atkins (Goddard, Kansas)

152 – No. 11 (at 160) Lance Runyon (Southeast Polk, Iowa), Bubba Wilson (Manhattan, Kansas), Elise Brown Ton (Allen, Texas), Nolan Craine (Goddard, Kansas)

160 – No. 14 (at 152) Cade Devos (Southeast Polk, Iowa), Trevor Dopps (Goddard, Kansas)

170 – No. 6 Troy Fisher (Goddard, Kansas), Alex Van Dyke (Skutt Catholic, Neb.)

182 – Nate Dooley (Allen, Texas), Cayden Atkins (Goddard, Kansas)

195 – Gabe Christenson (Southeast Polk, Iowa), Matthew Muller (Fayetteville, Ark.), Eli Jansen (Skutt Catholic, Neb.)

220 – Trenton Willert (Goddard, Kansas), Marcos Fisher (Dodge City, Kansas)

285 – Johnny Green (Allen, Texas), Evan Darville (Dodge City, Kansas)