News Ticker
Wrestling Texas Apparel

El Paso Franklin Coach is Stepping Down.

Coach Jesse Almodovar the head Coach of El Paso Franklin is stepping down.  Everyone knows how much time wrestling can take from your family and Coach has decided to spend more time with his which includes 2 girls that are 7 and 10 years old.
Coach Almodovar is leaving on a high note, having been inducted into the wrestling Hall of Fame this year. The Franklin Wrestling Team is a young team who did very well this past season and had a State Champion in James McClain-Green along with several State qualifiers and placers.  The Team is ranked 6th in Tournament Team and 4th as a Dual Team. The whole team will be returning next year.

Coach Almodovar has been coaching for 21 years, last 12 have been with Franklin High School.  Coach started his winning ways with a State Championship of his own in 1991 with Burges High School @ 112lb weight class.  Going on to college he earned his bachelors degree from Sam Houston State University.
In 1998 Almodovar started the Cielo Vista Colts Youth Wrestling Club at Burges High School and in 2003 started his High School Coaching career with El Paso High School, claiming a district championship in 2005.  From 2003-2005 Coach had 2 state placers and 4 qualifiers.
In 2006 he transferred to Franklin High School and thats when the dominance in El Paso started.  Franklin has been District Champs every year since, 12 consecutive years.
Regional Champs 2012, and 2017
Regional Runner Ups 2006, 2010,2011,2013, 2014, and 2015
31 State Placers, and 77 State Qualifiers
3 State Champions
9 All-Americans

Dual Meet Record 156-32
Dual State Results (top 10)

UIL Team Results(top 10)

Impressive Career for an Awesome Coach, Best Wishes in your future endeavers.

So obviously the Team is looking for a Head Coach to take over El Paso Franklin winning tradition.

All Interested Coaches please send a letter of Interest or Resume  TO:
Irma Hernandez
Staffing Assistant Area 2
Fax: 915-230-0005
[email protected]


Hall of Fame 2017

Hall of Fame 2017

Dual State 2015

Dual State 2015



Freestyle State 2013

FreeStyle State 2013

State Semi Finals 2015