in , ,

2 Time State Champions

Jacqueline Ghent for CC Veterans Memorial.  Not only her 2nd state championship but the first time in all of Corpus Christi ISD that a wrestler is a 2 time state champ.



2019, 119-5A (36-1)  defeated Tabitha Wood of Frisco Independence by (MD 9-0)
2018, 128-5A (44-1) defeated Angelina Baltazar of El Paso Hanks by (Dec 6-3)




Isabelle Gonzalez  for El Paso Hanks

Gonzalez is a 3 time state placer, placing 5th in 2017


2019, 128-5A (36-1) defeated Skye Bravo of Canyon Randall by (Dec 8-3)
2018, 119-5A (37-0) defeated Alexis Hanna of Azle by (Dec 3-0)



Camille Fournier  for Weatherford.
Fournier is a 3x state finalist


119-6A (42-0) defeated Anna Marie Crixell of Oak Ridge by (Fall 0:49)
2018, 102-6A (47-3) defeated Samara Chavez of Arlington Martin by (Fall 5:59)






Xochitl Mota-Pettis  for Klein

Pettis is ranked #1 in the national polls and a 4 time state placer, 3 time state finalist.

2019 128-6A (45-0) defeated Clarissa Archuleta of Rockwall Heath by (MD 11-0)
2017,  119-6A (54-1) defeated Rosie Ramirez of La Joya by (Fall 3:02)



Lexie Basham  for Northwest Nelson

Back to Back finals opponent in Suarez.
2019, 138-6A (56-0) defeated Jordan Suarez Katy Morton Ranch by (Fall 5:54)
2018, 138-6A (47-1) defeated Jordan Suarez of Katy Morton Ranch by (Fall 0:22)







Alex Pena for Lubbock HS

Another back to back finals.  Pena this season over came lots of obstacles to retain his title. Read Story Here

2019, 113-5A (22-3) defeated Jesse Martinez of Dumas by (Dec 9-5)
2018, 113-5A (44-3) defeated Jesse Martinez of Dumas by (Dec 11-5)





Tyler Brennan for Frisco

Brennan denied Ortegon a 4th state championship keeping him out of the 4 timers list and the first 5A wrestler to do so after the class split.


2019, 126-5A (44-2) defeated  Johnathon Ortegon of Canyon Randall  by (SV-1 6-4)
2017, 106-5A (34-1) defeated John Richardson of Prosper by (Dec 9-2)




Heath Roth for Argyle

Roth is a 3 time state finalist with only 2 losses in his high school career with his last loss coming in last season’s final.  Roth also has a win over Tagen Jamison the 132-6A state champ this season. So you could say that Roth is the true All State Champ at 132 with a 145-2 career record.


2019, 132-5A (40-0) defeated La Stot Pleasant of Frisco Lone Star by  (Fall 1:16)
2017, 120-5A (61-0) defeated  Bryan Pena of Lubbock by (Dec 3-2)




Seth Dixon  of Hereford

Seth Dixon is a 4 time state placer, placing 3rd both 2016, and 2017 seasons before becoming a 2 time state champ


2019, 160-5A (31-0) Jayden Heaton of Canyon Randall Dec 3-1
2018, 152-5A (41-1) defeated Kye Fehrenbacher of Wylie East by (Dec 3-2)








Braxton Brown  of Allen
Brown is a nationally ranked wrestler with his only losses this season was in the Ironman and Reno Tournament of Champions finals matches.


2019, 113-6A (51-2) defeated Kalen Napier of Weatherford  by (TF-1.5 4:10 16-0)
2018, 106-6A (43-4) defeated Dominic Chavez ofArlington Martin by (Dec 1-0)




Trent Dooley of Allen

Dooley is also national ranked this season with his only 2 losses coming from the Ironman tournament where he placed 4th.  Dooley is also the first Texan to sign with the new D1 program at Arkansas University.


2019, 138-6A (50-2) defeated Daniel Hernandez-Mendoza of Houston Westside by (Dec 7-1)
2018, 138-6A (43-5) defeated Joaquin Bautista of Cypress Lakes by (Dec 5-2)

What do you think?

345 points
Upvote Downvote

Written by TexasWrestling